WHO Technical Report Series Series 1017

First WHO Model List of Essential In Vitro Diagnostics

May 2019
More details
  • Publisher
    World Health Organization
  • Published
    16th May 2019
  • ISBN 9789241210263
  • Language English
  • Pages 70 pp.
  • Size 6" x 9"

In May 2018, the World Health Organization (WHO) published the first ever Model List of Essential In Vitro Diagnostics (EDL). The objective of the list is to help countries develop or update their national essential diagnostics lists, raise awareness and political will, guide procurement and regulation policies and improve access to the most important in vitro diagnostics that all countries need to make available to their populations, particularly in low-resourced countries. It will also contribute towards health systems strengthening and realizing universal health coverage.

The 1st EDL list includes 62 test categories divided into two levels and two categories:

- Level I: primary care settings where no or minimal laboratory services are available
- Level II: facilities with laboratories
- Category a: general IVDs
- Category b: disease-specific IVDs

World Health Organization

World Health Organization is a Specialized Agency of the United Nations, charged to act as the world's directing and coordinating authority on questions of human health. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries, and monitoring and assessing health trends.